A French Celebration

By choosing four or more concerts you receive a 20% discount of your purchase
Date Location Price
21 Sep 2017 » 19:30 Eldborg | Harpa 2.500 - 7.500 kr.
  • Program

    Paul Dukas The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
    Maurice Ravel Valses nobles et sentimentales
    Francis Poulenc Concerto for Two Pianos
    Maurice Ravel Pavane pour une enfante défunte
    Jacques Offenbach Selections from Gaîté Parisienne

  • Conductor

    Yan Pascal Tortelier

  • Soloists

    Lucas and Arthur Jussen

Iceland Symphony Orchestra's Chief Conductor Yan Pascal Tortelier invites you to a symphonic celebration featuring light, accessible works from his native France. The programme includes several popular selections from works by Offenbach, including the overture to La Vie Parisienne and the famous Can-Can from Orpheus in the Underworld

Also on the programme are two distinctly different works by Maurice Ravel, a lively medley of waltzes and the plaintive Pavane pour une enfante défunte. Many guests will recognise Dukas' The Sorcerer's Apprentice, one of the most famous tone poems in the French canon, from the animated film Fantasia

Poulenc's Concerto for Two Pianos, written in 1932, is a true masterwork inspired by the full stylistic spectrum from Mozart to jazz.

Dutch brothers Lucas and Arthur Jussen drew well-deserved acclaim for their performance in Harpa a few years ago. They have won a number of prizes and have made four recordings for Deutsche Grammophon, all of which have received outstanding reviews in world media.