The Youth Orchestra plays Dvořak

By choosing four or more concerts you receive a 20% discount of your purchase
Date Location Price
29 Sep 2024 » 17:00 » Sunday Eldborg | Harpa 2.900 - 5.700 kr.
Buy ticket
  • Program

    Aaron Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
    Antonín Dvořák Symphony no 9

  • Conductor

    Nathanaël Iselin

  • Orcehstra

    Iceland SO Youth Orchestra

The concerts of the ISO Youth Orchestra are an annual highlight, showcasing a brilliant group of young musicians who have participated in the Orchestra's courses, performing one of the great masterpieces of music history. This year, they will play the powerful and captivating 9th Symphony by Antonín Dvořák, The New World Symphony, along with Fanfare by Aaron Copland, under the direction of Nathanaël Iselin.

In 1891, the composer Antonín Dvořák was fifty years old and had already enjoyed a distinguished career in composition. He had recently accepted a professorship in Prague and preferred his home in the Bohemian countryside. He then received an offer he couldn't refuse: To become the director of a new conservatory of music in New York. Eventually, he accepted and sailed across the Atlantic. A truly new world opened up to him and Dvořák was deeply impressed by the music of the locals, particularly that of African Americans, which he eagerly studied. These influences are evident in The New World Symphony, which was premiered in the newly built Carnegie Hall in 1893. With its numerous memorable melodies, uplifting as well as wistful, the symphony captures the spirit and optimisim of the new world while harnessing the full power of the orchestra with captivating results.