Bruch and Brahms

  • 27. Apr » 19:30 Eldborg | Harpa 2.500 - 7.200 kr.
  • Buy ticket
  • Program

    Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson Mistur
    Max Bruch Violin Concerto no. 1
    Johannes Brahms Symphony no. 4

  • Conductor

    Vladimir Ashkenazy

  • Soloist

    Boris Belkin

Boris Belkin is a world-renowned representative of the Russian school of violin playing. He first performed in public at the age of seven and won the gold medal in the Soviet violin concerto in 1973, shortly before emigrating to the West. For years he has collaborated successfully with Vladimir Ashkenazy, including recordings and concert tours. Another close friend and collaborator of Ashkenazy's was Icelandic composer Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson, whose work Mistur (Mist) is also on this program.

Concluding the program is Johannes Brahms' magnificent Symphony no. 4, a thick Romantic work that is nevertheless inspired by Baroque forms and, in particular, the music of JS Bach. With this concert, Ashkenazy concludes his Brahms cycle, in which he has conducted the ISO's performance of all four symphonies in as many years.