The Tetzlaff-duo plays Brahms

  • 15. Sep » 19:30 Eldborg | Harpa 2.500 - 7.200 kr.
  • Buy ticket
  • Program

    Páll Ísólfsson Lyric Suite
    Johannes Brahms Double concerto for violin and cello
    Carl Nielsen Symphony no. 2, The Four Temperaments

  • Conductor

    Osmo Vänskä

  • Soloists

    Christian Tetzlaff and
    Tanja Tetzlaff

Siblings Christian and Tanja Tetzlaff are among Germany's most prominent musicians. They have appeared separately with the ISO and performed together at the Reykjavík Arts Festival with pianist Leif Ove Andsnes. Now they are returning to Iceland to perform Brahms' intense double concerto, the composer's last orchestral work. The Icelandic organist-composer Páll Ísólfsson was among Iceland's leading musicians in the early 20th-century. His Lyric Suite is performed surprisingly seldom, it is lovely and accessible and stands on a par with his best compositions. 

Carl Nielsen was one of the leading symphonic composers of the Nordic region. Among his ground-breaking works was his Symphony no. 2, performed by the Berlin Philharmonic shortly after the 1901 premiere. The theory of the four temperaments, which underlies the work, extends back to Greek philosopher Hippocrates. According to the theory, each individual's personality is more or less dominated by one of the four humours – blood, yellow bile, black bile, or phlegm – and tends towards one of the four temperaments: sanguine, choleric, melancholic, or phlegmatic. Under the baton of Osmo Vänskä, who has shown his brilliance in his recent work with the ISO and is considered a marvellous interpreter of Nielsen, this concert should inspire all comers.