Open House on Culture Night

A selection of the ISO’s best

By choosing four or more concerts you receive a 20% discount of your purchase
Date Location Price
18. Aug 2018 » 17:00 Eldborg | Harpa Admission is free
  • Program

    Leonard Bernstein Overture to Candide
    Pyotr Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto, 1st movement
    Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony no. 3, 4th movement
    Maurice Ravel Bolero

  • Conductor

    Klaus Mäkelä

  • Soloist

    Sigrún Eðvaldsdóttir

The latter concert on the ISO's Culture Night programme features movements from some of the pillars of the orchestral music canon, all of which will be performed by the orchestra during the coming season. Bernstein's Candide Overture is vim and vigour incarnate, and concertmaster Sigrún Eðvaldsdóttir will play the solo part in the first movement of Tchaikovsky's magnificent Violin Concerto.

Also on the programme are the last movement of Beethoven's majestic Eroica Symphony and Ravel's Bolero, which gives the orchestra a chance to showcase the many different tonal colours the instruments can produce. The conductor is Finland's 21-year-old Klaus Mäkelä, who has already conducted most of the Nordic region's orchestras despite his young age. 

Admission is free. Tickets to the concerts are available at Harpa Ticket Office from 11:00 am on concert day.