Friday series

Mozart and Arvo Pärt  

  • 1. Dec » 18:00 Norðurljós | Harpa 2.900 kr.
  • Buy ticket
  • Program

    Arvo Pärt Für Alina
    Arvo Pärt Mozart-Adagio
    W.A. Mozart Fantasia for piano in C Minor
    W.A. Mozart Piano Concerto no. 24 in C Minor

  • Soloist and conductor

    Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson

  • Soloists

    Nicola Lolli violin
    Sigurgeir Agnarsson cello

Although Mozart and Arvo Pärt belong to two different periods, they have much in common artistically. Their music is pure and uplifting, often with a simple surface overlaying inner complexity. Für Alina for piano was a watershed in Pärt's career, in which he found his own voice after a hiatus of many years. The Mozart-Adagio is Pärt's piano trio arrangement of a gorgeous movement from one of Mozart's piano sonatas.

Mozart's piano works in c minor, written in 1785-1786, are unusually dark and tempestuous – even a sort of harbinger of the type of expression frequently associated with Beethoven. The Fantasia for solo piano is a perfect prelude to the concerto. In both pieces, Mozart explores the depths of the soul in a different way than he had previously done. Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson does double-duty as soloist and conductor, leading the orchestra from the piano, as was done in Mozart's day.