Haydn and Brahms

Date Location Price
11 Feb 2021 » 20:00 - 21:00 » Thursday Eldborg | Harpa 2.400 – 5.700 ISK
  • Program

    Joseph Haydn Cello Concerto in C Major
    Johannes Brahms Symphony no. 2

  • Conductor

    Eva Ollikainen

  • Soloist

    Sigurgeir Agnarsson

  • Host

    Halla Oddný Magnúsdóttir

Joseph Haydn excelled in writing symphonies and string quartets, but his two cello concertos are among the most popular of their kind. The concerto in C major was actually presumed lost until 1961, when a musicologist discovered the score at the Prague National Museum. It is a delightful creation, performed here by Sigurgeir Agnarsson, the Iceland Symphony's principal cellist.

Of Brahms's four symphonies, the Symphony no. 2 stands apart as the most gentle and relaxed, and the only one in a major mode. One of the composer's friends described it like this: “It is all rippling streams, blue sky, sunshine, and cool green shadows!”

Listen to the concert live on Channel 1 (Rás 1) of the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service (RÚV).

Ticket sales and concertgoer's guide
In accordance to local health regulations and to ensure the safety of our patrons, the Eldborg concert hall in Harpa has been divided into several areas, each with a maximum capacity of 50 guests. To ensure space between guests, one empty seat will be reserved between each ticket order. We also offer seats that ensure a distance of 2 meters on all sides, but these tickets must be booked through the Harpa ticket office, tel. 528-5050. Read our concertgoer's guide here