From the New World

Date Location Price
4 Mar 2021 » 20:00 - 21:00 » Thursday Eldborg | Harpa 2.500 - 7.800 ISK
  • Program

    Julia Perry A Short Piece for Orchestra
    Antonín Dvořák Symphony no. 9 “From the New World”

  • Conductor

    Eva Ollikainen

This concert at the Iceland Symphony features works by Antonin Dvořák and Julia Perry.

Dvořák's Symphony no. 9, one of the cornerstones of nationalist symphonic composition in the 19th century, is a captivating merger of the Old World and the New.

Julia Perry is among those twentieth-century composers that have been largely forgotten, despite having written exceptionally good music. A student at Juilliard in the 1950s, she gained some attention in her time, but as a black woman composer, her opportunities were limited. Her lively concert piece has been revived with increasing frequency in the last few years, inspiring a new generation of audiences. Conducting the orchestra is Eva Ollikainen, Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra.

Listen to the concert live on Channel 1 (Rás 1) of the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service (RÚV).

Ticket sales and concertgoer's guide
In accordance to local health regulations and to ensure the safety of our patrons, the Eldborg concert hall in Harpa has been divided into several areas, each with a maximum capacity of 200 guests. To ensure space between guests, one empty seat will be reserved between each ticket order. We also offer seats that ensure a distance of 2 meters on all sides, but these tickets must be booked through the Harpa ticket office, tel. 528-5050. Read our concertgoer's guide here