Icelanders' favourite classics

By choosing four or more concerts you receive a 20% discount of your purchase
Date Location Price
2 Sep 2016 » 20:00 » Friday Eldborg | Harpa 2.500 - 7.200 kr.
  • Program

    Richard Wagner: Ride of the Valkyries
    Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 5
    Edvard Grieg: In the Hall of the Mountain King
    Carl Orff: O fortuna (from Carmina Burana)
    Pjotr Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1, 1st mvt
    J.S. Bach: Air from Suite No. 3
    Antonio Vivaldi: The Spring, 1st mvt.
    Maurice Ravel: Bolero
    Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony no. 9, 4th mvt.

  • Conductor

    Daníel Bjarnason

  • Soloists

    Sigrún Eðvaldsdóttir & Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson

  • Soloists

    Þóra Einarsdóttir, Sigríður Ósk Kristjánsdóttir, Elmar Gilbertsson & Kristinn Sigmundsson

The Icelandic National Broadcasting Service collaborated with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra in an online vote giving the general public to select their favourites. This concert features the top 9 picks from the vote, performed in Eldborg hall at a special gala concert, a pre-season taste of the upcoming year at the ISO. The conductor is Daníel Bjarnason, and soloists are Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson and Sigrún Eðvaldsdóttir.