Icelandic Symphony on Airwaves

  • 2. Nov » 20:00 Eldborg | Harpa 2.600 - 4.300 kr.
  • Buy ticket
  • Program

    Anna Þorvaldsdóttir Dreaming
    Hildur Guðnadóttir Under Takes Over
    María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir Aequora
    Þuríður Jónsdóttir Flow and Fusion

  • Conductor

    Anna-Maria Helsing

Iceland Symphony Orchestra's Airwaves concert features orchestral works by four Icelandic composers who have drawn significant attention in the past few years. Anna Þorvaldsdóttir won the Nordic Council Music Prize in 2012 for Dreaming, and both Þuríður Jónsdóttir and Hildur Guðnadóttir were nominated for the same prize for the works on this programme. The adjudication panel for the Nordic Prize said this about Dreaming: “The tones are carefully depicted - almost like small pieces of embroidery. [...] The work grows on you with every listening, and it makes you curious for more.”

Þuríður Jónsdóttir's Flow and Fusion is a captivating merger of electronic and orchestral sounds that the composer says reflected “different streams of hot, flowing magma that fuse together in a single semi-liquid mass of churning lava”. Hildur Guðnadóttir's work is an unconventional study of the subconscious and is formed through constantly changing patches of light controlled by the conductor. María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir's richly atmospheric Aequora, recently performed by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, was nominated for the Icelandic Music Awards as Composition of the Year.