Daníel and Adams

Date Location Price
28 Jan 2021 » 20:00 - 21:00 » Thursday Eldborg | Harpa 2.400 – 5.700 ISK
  • Program

    Daníel Bjarnason Over Light Earth
    John Adams Shaker Loops
    Robert Schumann Konzertstück for 4 Horns

  • Conductor

    Daníel Bjarnason

  • Iceland Symphony Horn Section

    Stefán Jón Bernharðsson, Joseph Ognibene, Frank Hammarin and Asbjørn Ibsen Bruun

  • Host

    Halla Oddný Magnúsdóttir

The Iceland Symphony Orchestra's horn section is an exceptional group of outstanding musicians, and this concert presents a rare opportunity to hear them in the spotlight of soloist. Robert Schumann's Konzertstück for four horns is a truly delightful work that shows the horn section in its finest form.

Daníel Bjarnason's Over Light Earth is a work from 2012 now receiving its Icelandic premiere. Inspired by the abstract expressionism of artists Mark Rothko and Jackson Pollock, it was commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and premiered under the direction of John Adams, the composer of another work on tonight's programme. Adams's Shaker Loops from 1983 is one of his most widely performed works and among the masterworks of American minimalism, a true showcase for string orchestra treated like a real group of virtuosos.

Conducting the orchestra is Daníel Bjarnason, who was recently nominated for a Grammy alongside the Iceland Symphony for Best Orchestral Performance.

Ticket sales and concertgoer's guide
In accordance to local health regulations and to ensure the safety of our patrons, the Eldborg concert hall in Harpa has been divided into several areas, each with a maximum capacity of 50 guests. To ensure space between guests, one empty seat will be reserved between each ticket order. We also offer seats that ensure a distance of 2 meters on all sides, but these tickets must be booked through the Harpa ticket office, tel. 528-5050. Read our concertgoer's guide here.